WPL 2024: Gujarat gave target of 143 runs to UP

WPL 2024: UP Warriors and Gujarat Giants are face to face today in the eighth match. This match is being played at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. UP Warriors won the toss and decided to bowl first. After losing the toss, Gujarat Giants team came to bat first and gave a target of 143 runs in 120 balls to UP Warriors. Sophie Ecclestone bowled brilliantly for UP Warriors, killing three batsmen in four overs. After two consecutive defeats, UP performed brilliantly under the leadership of Alyssa Healy. The UP team is looking for its second win today. The UP team would like to register a win today and maintain its hold on the points table. Whereas Gujarat team is looking for its first win. Now it remains to be seen which team’s bat speaks and which team’s spin pays off.

WPL 2024: Sophie Ecclestone took three wickets

Sophie Ecclestone performed amazingly while bowling for UP. Sophie Ecclestone took three wickets for 20 runs in four overs. Whereas Rajeshwari Gaikwad made a batsman her victim. Rajeshwari Gaikwad proved to be a bit expensive for the team in terms of giving runs. Rajeshwari Gaikwad gave away 33 runs in four overs.

WPL 2024: Beth Mooney said this after losing the toss

It would be good if we can put 190 on the board. We have two changes. Laura Wolvaardt came in place of Tahuhu, Veda also missed out. You must be feeling that no matter what the situation is, you can win the game. It’s a long tournament in some ways and short in some ways, hopefully we get it right tonight.

WPL 2024: Alyssa Healy said this after winning the toss

We will have a bowl. They all played pretty evenly. But teams feel more comfortable chasing the target. Hopefully it will be much the same, that was the template we wanted to follow. Chamari has been included in place of Tahlia McGrath.

WPL 2024: UP vs GG: Head to Head Statistics

If we talk about head to head statistics of both the teams, UP has the upper hand in this. In WPL 2023, UPW defeated GGW by three wickets in both the matches. Incredibly, both games were won with a ball to spare, with Grace Harris named player of the match on both occasions.

WPL 2024: Playing 11 of UP Warriors

Alyssa Healy (captain and wicketkeeper), Vrinda Dinesh, Tahlia McGrath, Grace Harris, Shweta Sehrawat, Kiran Navgire, Poonam Khemnar, Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone, Anjali Sarwani, Rajeshwari Gaikwad.

Gujarat Giants playing 11

Beth Mooney (captain and wicketkeeper), Veda Krishnamurthy, Harleen Deol, Phoebe Litchfield, Daylan Hemlata, Ashley Gardner, Katherine Bryce, Sneh Rana, Tanuja Kanwar, Lee Tahuhu, Meghna Singh.

Leave a Comment