6 centuries have been scored in the 12 final matches of the World Cup tournament, will the 7th century be scored in Ahmedabad?

New Delhi : The final match of India-Australia World Cup 2023 is being played at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The Indian innings has ended in this match. The pitch of Narendra Modi Stadium is very slow, due to which the batsmen are not able to score runs. The ball lacks bounce. The pitch is said to be quite wet. In such a situation, a big score is not possible. In this match, three Indian batsmen were out, Rohit Sharma scored 47 runs, Virat Kohli scored 53 runs and KL Rahul scored 66 runs. No batsman of the Indian team has scored a century. The biggest question is that in the 12 World Cup tournaments from 1975 to 2007, only 6 players have managed to score a psychological score of more than 100 runs. In the World Cup 2023, the 13th final match of this tournament is being played between India and Australia. In such a situation, the question also arises whether any batsman will be able to score the 7th century in this tournament? Before this, let us know which players have succeeded in scoring centuries in the final matches of the 12 World Cup tournaments so far.

Clive Lloyd scored 102 runs in the first final of 1975.

The Cricket World Cup tournament was started in the year 1975. Its final match was played on June 21, 1975 between Australia and West Indies at Lloyd’s Ground. Batting first, West Indies scored 291 runs for 8 wickets in 60 overs. In this, captain Clive Lloyd played a brilliant inning of 102 runs in 85 balls. In this he hit 12 fours and 6 sixes. At one time in this match, three wickets of West Indies had fallen at the score of 50. Clive Lloyd took the lead and made a partnership of 149 runs with Rohan Kanhai for the fourth wicket. Clive Lloyd was chosen man of the match.

Vivian Richards scored unbeaten 138 runs in 1979

In 1979, the final match was played between West Indies and England in the second World Cup. This match was played on 23 June 1979. In this match, West Indies batsman Vivian Richards played a strong unbeaten inning of 138 runs. In this he hit 11 fours and three sixes in 157 balls. West Indies had scored 286 runs after losing nine wickets. In response, the entire England team was all out for 194 runs. Vivian Richards was declared man of the match.

Arvind de Silva scored unbeaten 107 runs in 1996

After Claude Lloyd and Vivian Richards, Sri Lanka’s Aravind de Silva is the third player to score a century in the final match of the World Cup. He played an unbeaten inning of 107 runs against Australia in the final match of the 1996 World Cup. This final match was played at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. In this match, Arvind de Silva played the winning inning of 107 runs in 124 balls. In this he hit 13 fours. In this match, Sri Lanka had scored 245 runs and defeated Australia by seven wickets.

Ricky Ponting scored 121 runs in 2003

The final match of the World Cup 2003 was played in Johannesburg, South Africa. Sourav Ganguly was the captain of Team India in this match. This match was played between India and Australia on 23 March 2003. In this match, four batsmen of Australia had made a mountain-like score of 359 runs, in which Ricky Ponting played an inning of 121 runs with the help of four fours and eight sixes. In this match, Team India players were all out with a score of 234. Australia won the match by 125 runs.

Adam Gilchrist scored 149 runs in 2007

The ninth final match of the World Cup tournament was played between Australia and Sri Lanka on 28 April 2007 in Bridgetown, West Indies. Australia won the toss and chose to bat and Adam Gilchrist played a brilliant inning of 149 runs in 104 balls. This is the biggest innings ever played in the World Cup final, in which Gilchrist hit 13 fours and 8 sixes. The Australian team scored 281 runs after losing 4 wickets in 38 overs. In reply, Sri Lankan team could score only 215 runs and Australia won its third consecutive World Cup final by 53 runs according to Duckworth-Lewis Method. Gilchrist was adjudged player of the match for his brilliant century.

Mahela Jayawardene scored 103 runs in 2011

The 10th final match of the World Cup tournament was played between India and Sri Lanka at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on 2 April 2011. By winning the title in this match, India became the winner of the World Cup for the second time. In this match, Sri Lanka won the toss and batted first. Captain Mahela Jayawardene played a brilliant inning of 103 runs on 88 balls. The Sri Lankan team had scored 274 runs losing 6 wickets in 50 overs. In reply, Team India won the match by losing 4 wickets. Mahela Jayawardene’s century went in vain.

Leave a Comment